The Miracle of Spray Paint

Sometimes you can’t save something old and neglected. Sometimes you don’t want to. For everything else there is spray paint.

Case in point the light outside my front door which was home to wasps and had an ancient bulb in it that emitted a weird yellow glow. It hadn’t been cleaned in years, bird poop does some pretty harsh things to metal when left to sit. It was pretty bad. But it wasn’t such a bad style so I decided to rehab it or at least try to.

After taking it apart and cleaning out the various nests inside, I scrubbed the lenses and took some steel wool to all the metal parts. Then I slowly spray painted layer upon layer of copper. VoilĂ , it looks nearly new.

Now I have to figure out what I am going to do about those house numbers….

2 thoughts on “The Miracle of Spray Paint

  1. I know this is an old post but wanted to point out that living in a condo typically means dealing and working with your HOA. There are typically rules and guidelines about things like fixtures so you cant really just repaint it to whatever suits your fancy. Yeah it sucks, but hey, thats what being a grown up homeowner means. Looks great otherwise, love your site!

    • Every HOA is different. Outside I cannot replace the doors without permission from the board or paint walls in anything but the chosen color, but light fixtures are up to my discretion as are the plants within my property. That is why HOA rules must be read carefully. It’s also why it is good to pay attention to HOA committees. I have already gotten my HOA to change things and rewrite some of their rules.

Leave a Reply

